Cantey Lecture & Preservations Awards

For registration information for the 2020 Cantey Lecture click here!

2020 Preservation Awards are postponed until 2021.

About the Preservation Awards

Each September, Historic Fort Worth recognizes the outstanding preservation projects happening in Fort Worth through an annual awards program. Each spring HFW requests nominations from the public for projects and people worthy of consideration for an award. Four categories of awards recognize excellent preservation projects, rehabilitation of residential properties, great stewards of historic places, and significant achievements of individuals or organizations in the preservation of Fort Worth’s historic resources. All nominations are evaluated based on the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties.

Samuel Benton Cantey, III Lecture   

The annual Cantey Lecture is paired with HFW’s preservation awards. As a Fort Worth visionary, business leader, collector of art and leader of the Fort Worth Art Association that became the Modern Museum of Art, Samuel Benton Cantey III (1914-1973) understood that great architecture is irreplaceable. In the 1950’s Mr. Cantey invited Bror Utter (1913-1993) to paint architecturally-significant buildings in downtown Fort Worth as they were being prepared for demolition. Mr. Utter, an astute studio artist and teacher, was a member of the Fort Worth Circle, a legendary group of artists who traveled abroad and painted together. His paintings document demolished and standing downtown buildings and are part of the permanent collection of the Amon Carter Museum of American Art in Fort Worth. Copies of the originals are hung in the lobby of Fort Worth’s downtown Bank of America building.

Past Cantey Lecturers include:

2010:   Jeffrey Mills, CEO of Io Communications, a documentary film company featuring the restoration of El Paso’s Theater.

2011:   Will Wynn, architect and former mayor of Austin, Texas, on what makes Austin a great city

2012:  John C. Rosato, managing partner of the historic Seaholm Power Plant re-development project in downtown Austin, Texas.

2013:  Dr. Elizabeth Louden, Director of Historic Preservation, Texas Tech University

2014: Dr. Mary Anne Hunting, architectural historian and author of Edward Durell Stone: Modernism’s Populist Architect

2015: Dan L. Smith, author of The Bankhead Highway in Texas

2016: Kathryn E. Holiday, PhD, Professor of Architecture at the University of Texas at Arlington

2017: Beth Wiedower, Director of the National Trust for Historic Preservation’s Houston Field Office. For more information click here.

2018: Carol Grove, adjunct professor of American Art and Architecture at the University of Missouri in Columbia. For More information click here.

2019: Carolyn Brown, photographer, who has traveled the world to photograph famous places and ancient architecture. For more information click here.



2019 Cantey Lecture & Preservation Awards

To view information on the 2019 Preservation Awards click here!

Cantey Lecture


To view information on the 2019 Preservation Awards click here!

To view information on the 2018 Cantey Lecture and Preservation Award Winners Click here 

2017 Cantey Lecture and Preservation Awards