HFW’s 50th Anniversary


Historic Fort Worth, Inc. is 50 years old!

Purchase reservations to the party and lecture here.

Established in 1969, honored with the 2009 Texas Historical Commission’s Governors Award in Preservation and a member of the National Preservation Partners Network, Historic Fort Worth, Inc. is dedicated to preserving Fort Worth’s unique historic identity through stewardship, education and leadership.  HFW stewards two cattle baron properties within the Quality Hill neighborhood, the 1904 Wharton-Scott House known as Thistle Hill, Fort Worth’s first landmark, and the 1899 Ball-Eddleman-McFarland House, Fort Worth’s second landmark.

This anniversary year we honor founders Samuel Beeman Fisher, Ruth Carter Stevenson, Betty McPherson Brown, Jenkins Garrett, Ann Frasher Hudson, H.H. Morse, and Joe Minton Jr. We also honor first Board members Sam B. Cantey III, Martha Croley Bass Click, Martha Rowan Hyder, Patricia Honea Schutts, and Steven S. Stavron.

We hope you will join us as we celebrate this landmark occasion on Thursday, November 7 with a two-part event at Texas’ only two houses designed by internationally-acclaimed architect A. Quincy Jones, Jr.: the 1953 Fuller house at 4167 Charron and the 1962 Chiles house at 1300 Shady Oaks Lane.

The evening will start at the Fuller house with a lecture by Ms. Brooke Hodge, director of art and architecture at the Palm Springs Museum of Art and author of a definitive book,  A. Quincy Jones: Building for Better Living. Then the celebration will continue with dinner, entertainment and tours of the Chiles house. We are grateful for the wonderful stewardship of these two homes by owners Rick Maxey & Gary Blake, and H. Paul Dorman.