Googins Commercial Block – Main

Joseph B. Googins, vice-president of North Fort Worth Townsite Co. and a prominent North Side developer and businessman, acquired the entire block at the southwest corner of the intersection of N. Main and NW. 20th Streets in 1906; the property remained in his wife’s estate until 1980. The first tenants, in 1912-13, iñcluded an electrician, barber, tailor, milliner and sewing machine shop and doctors’ offices and apartments upstairs. A wide variety of trade and service firms have occupied the street-level spaces since that time. Apparently constructed at different times, the prominent building presents two principal facades on its corner site. A tall, parapeted second story rises over shopfronts below. The fme quality brickwork exhibits decorative frieze panels and a cornice containing a blind arcade below the stepped parapet. Cast-stone coping and window sills highlight the structure. The street level storefronts have been altered extensively and the second- story windows boarded up. Future research may identify the architect of this important building.

Leave a Comment

Membership has its rewards

Please join with other generous individuals, corporations, and foundations to help Historic Fort Worth with its mission to preserve history.

Tour McFarland House for Free. Receive free membership tour tickets as other discounts.

Historic Fort Worth is a 501c (3) charity.