O’Daniel House – Warner

This two-story brick-veneered house has a tiled hipped roof. Although it is undistinguished architecturally, the house has a fascinating history. Its present appearance dates from a major remodeling in the 1920s by W. Lee “Pappy” O’Daniel, then manager of the Burris Flour Mill, late governor of Texas (1939-41) and U. S. Senator (1941-49). O’Daniel owned the house from 1925 to 1945. Prior to its remodeling, it was a two and one-half story wood-framed turreted Queen Anne mansion, the residence of W. J. Rogers, whose 106-acre farm was subdivided in 1924 as the Berkeley Addition. Deed restrictions for the new subdivision forbade wood exteriors. Some original features survive in the interior. It appears to be eligible for the National Register as the residence of an individual prominent in the political history of Texas, and as an architectural link with the early development of the Berkeley area. The O’Daniel House was designated a Historic and Cultural Landmark in 1988. It was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1985 for its association with W. Lee “Pappy” O’Daniel. It was listed under the name Rogers-O’Daniel House which acknowledges the first owner, William Joseph Rogers.

Leave a Comment