Old Trail Drivers’ Park Shelter – 28th

Old Trail Drivers’ Park was named in 1928 to honor the cowboys who drove cattle north along the Chisholm Trail through Fort Worth. Between 1935 and 1937, a Works Progress Administration project provided employment to local masons, carpenters and other tradesmen in the construction of the park shelter. The U-plan shelter of dark brick features arcaded walls supporting an open, heavy timber-framed hipped roof. Situated on top of a hill, the shelter offers visitors a view looking southwest over the Trinity Rivet In fair condition despite the unkempt nature of the park, the shelter has suffered from paint and graffiti on its brick walls.

Leave a Comment