Loffland House/ “Trail’s End” – Westover

John M. and Florence Loffland had a palatial residence constructed about 1934 on property they had acquired in 1931. A successful oil operator and partner of Loffland Bros. Co. (later J. M. Loffland & Sons), at the time one of the largest drilling contractors in the United States, Loffland was also aWestoverHills commissioner when the town was incorporated. Set well back on a parcel obscured by shrubbery and a stone wall, the eclectic Period Revival style residence is remembered as the design of James Teague, who worked with Joseph 3. Patterson during the 1930s. A. C. Luther is recorded as the contractor. The irregular, picturesque composition has one-, two-, and three-story sections with intersecting hip and gable roofs, crenelated turrets, and enormous chimneys. The house is clad in random course, quarry-faced “crab orchard stone” from Tennessee in warm earth tones, and at the time of construction was thought to be the only structure built with this material in the Southwest. Window and door surrounds are of finely dressed limestone. The residence remained in the Loffland family until 1970. Though difficult to see, the house appears to be in excellent condition, and appears eligible for the National Register as an architectural design as well as for its associations with a figure in Fort Worth and Southwest history.

Leave a Comment